2014 Award Recipients

The Canadian Institute of Forestry/Institut forestier du Canada 2014 National Awards Banquet took place on Friday, October 10, in Salt Lake City, Utah during the annual general meeting and conference. Mr. Allan Stinson, President of the Institute was the moderator of this long-running annual tradition.

Canadian Forestry Achievement Award

The Canadian Forestry Achievement Award was established in 1967. The intent of the award is to recognize unique and outstanding forestry achievement by individuals in Canada. It is the Institute’s objective that it encourages excellence in the forestry profession. This year’s recipient was Mr. Bill Bourgeois.

Canadian Forestry Scientific Achievement Award

The Canadian Forestry Scientific Achievement, created in 1980, recognizes unique and outstanding contributions to forest research in Canada. This year’s recipient was Dr. Ellen Macdonald.

James M. Kitz Award

The Institute recognizes that there are many individuals involved in forestry across Canada who are making outstanding contributions early in their careers. This award is in honour of James Kitz, a member of the Institute and the College of Alberta Professional Foresters, who passed away at the early age of 36. The award recognizes individuals who make significant, unique, and outstanding contributions in the field of forestry early in their career. It has the objective of encouraging excellence in the forestry profession. This year’s recipient was Ms. Megan Smith.

Canadian Forest Management Group Achievement Award

The Canadian Forest Management Group Achievement Award was established in 1998, and exists to recognize outstanding achievement by teams or groups of natural resource managers, researchers, or non-government-organizations in the field of forest resource related activity in Canada. This year’s recipient is University of Toronto Faculty of Forestry.

International Forestry Achievement Award

Established in 1988, the International Forestry Achievement Award is intended to recognize unique and outstanding contributions in international forestry. The award recognizes that Canada is a world leader in the practice of forestry and appreciates the actions of individuals who have shared this leadership with other nations. It can also recognize the actions of an individual to bring nations together to better forestry practices globally. This year’s recipient is Mr. Clément Sofalne.

Presidential Award

The Presidential Award is presented to individuals who have provided outstanding service and commitment to the Canadian Institute of Forestry, and who exemplify a devotion to, and passion for the profession. This year’s recipient was Dr. Peter Marshall.

Section of the Year Award

The Canadian Institute of Forestry is very a much a grass-roots organization; but with a national network and focus. There are currently 18 sections that span the country, and they are truly the foundation and strength of our organization. Our Section of the Year award recognizes outstanding involvement of a specific Section in the affairs of the Institute. It was a very difficult decision as to which Section was most deserving of this award in 2011. This year’s recipient has been very active with events, initiatives, activities and in providing member value that addresses our strategic directions. The Newfoundland & Labrador Section was this year’s Section of the Year!

Schlich Medal

Sir William Schlich, who was born in 1840, was a German forester who became Inspector General of Forests to the Government of India. He also founded the School of Forestry at Oxford in 1905, and was knighted in 1909 for his many achievements. He passed-away in 1925 and the Oxford Forestry School sponsored a campaign to create a fitting memorial – the Schlich Memorial Fund. The trust itself was established in 1929, initiating the recognition of outstanding contributions to forestry in a number of countries including the UK, Australia, New Zealand, the U.S. and Canada. One of the first recipients was Franklin Delano Roosevelt, who went on to become the 32nd President of the U.S. Another was Gifford Pinchot, the first Chief of the US Forest Service. With the reintroduction of the Schlich Award in Canada, the Institute plans to recognize an outstanding forestry student annually. The recipient of the 2014 Schlich Medal was Ms. Lara Griffiths.


Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry

His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales has recently sanctioned that the Institute will annually present The Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry. The purpose of this new award is to recognize the achievements of an outstanding young forest professional in Canada, and to encourage involvement in and dedication to the principles of sustainable forest management, sound forest science, and effective public outreach. To be eligible for the award, candidates must either be a student or recent graduate (within five years) from a Canadian forestry, natural resources or environmental science university or college program, and must have made outstanding contributions to the their school and program, and to forest professionalism in general, within their community. Eligible recipients must also be members in good standing of the Institute, thus demonstrating their personal commitment to lifelong continuing education and professional development, and their support of forest professionalism. This year’s recipient of The Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry was Jeff Renton.

Tree of Life Recipients

The Tree of Life Awards are nationally recognized, but are selected by the Sections of the Institute. They are awarded to individuals who have made superior, dedicated or particularly effective contributions to sustainable forest resource management, forest renewal or sustained yield, and integrated management of the forest and its intrinsic resources. The following four members received Tree of Life Awards this year.

  • Tony Rotherham, OR
  • Peter Johnson, SOS
  • Geraint Richards, International
  • His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, International  

J. Michael Waldram Memorial Model Forest Fellowship

In 2006, the Canadian Model Forest Network announced the establishment of the J. Michael Waldram Memorial Model Forest Fellowship, to be offered as part of the suite of awards bestowed annually by the Canadian Institute of Forestry. The Fellowship is open to all Canadian Aboriginal youth enrolled in at least their second year in either a degree or diploma program in natural resource management at a Canadian University or College. This year’s recipients of J. Michael Waldram Memorial Model Forest Fellowships are Nicole Iaci and Curtis Germaine.