Event Story

RMS Fall Tech Session December 1, 2016 at Northern Alberta Institute Technology, Edmonton, Alberta.

Seismic Session 3

The Rocky Mountain House Section put on another highly successful technical session entitled "Seismic Line Restoration". The session was well attended with between 150 and 160 participants. Natural Resources Canada was a major contributor to the event. Thank you very much Mike Norton and Guillermo Castilla!

The conference posters are now available for viewing!

An impressive lineup of speakers included:

  • Matthew Pyper - Fuse Consulting ltd
  • Anna Dabros - Natural Resources Canada
  • Shane Patterson - Government of Alberta
  • Laura Finnegan - Foothills Research Institute
  • Michael Cody - Cenovus Energy
  • Paula Bentham - Golder Associates
  • Margaret Donelly - Alberta Pacific Forest Industries
  • Simon Dyer - Pembina Institute

RMS Seismic Line Session 1

The session was videotaped by Jeff Allen Productions and CIF hopes to present these excellent lectures in future Electronic Lecture Series sessions.

The session was successful in part due to the hard work and enthusiasm of RMS Council members Jeff Renton Chair, Ashley Lawson Director, Julie Steinke and Lindsay Dent Counselors. The session was ably lead by Jennifer Renton Government of Alberta. You will remember that Jen and Jeff were responsible for the fall tech session in 2015 on "Living with Caribou: Forestry, Land-Use and Policy Technical Session"

Thanks to Northern Institute of Technology for providing the facility, audio support and the delicious food! Ashley did a stellar job troubleshooting session planning logistics.

Eleven graduate students from the BERA program at the University of Calgary provided excellent posters that supplemented and added value to the session theme. Please check out The NSERC CRD Boreal Ecosystem Recovery and Assessment (BERA) website at http://www.bera-project.org/

Seismic Session 6

The technical session was followed by a Student Quiz Bowl challenge between the RMS executive, and forestry students from NAIT and the University of Alberta. The RMS executive "the Dandelions" were defeated in the final round by the second year NAIT Students. It’s been 40 years since I had my forest protection and mensuration courses at University. I think I may need to refresh some topics before the next quiz bowl challenge…..

Seismic Session 5

Congratulations to Heather Kitz, Andrew Kalyan, Dylan Eaton, and Haley Stayko!

Ashley Lawson Director for RMS designed and awarded the RMS Quiz Bowl cup for the first time. An impressive wooden trophy developed with precision beaver chewing-I suspect.

Seismic Session 4

Our next technical session will be in May 2017. Watch for announcements in the New Year

-Dan Wilkinson Vice Chair RMS