Forest Capital of Canada Designation

Established in 1979, the Forest Capital of Canada program focuses on the valuable role forests play in the socio-economic and environmental health of our communities – past, present and future. Originally delivered by the Canadian Forestry Association, the CIF-IFC now administers the legacy program. Each year the CIF-IFC designates a community or region to host a celebration of its forest resources.

Communities or regions are invited to submit a proposal that demonstrates their capacity to mount a successful 12 to 24-month celebration of forest resources!

Eligibility Criteria

Communities or regions interested in being designated the next Forest Capital of Canada must build a business case in the form of a proposal that illustrates their capacity to host a 12- to 24-month celebration of forest resources.


Application Procedure

  • Communities or regions interested in being designated the next Forest Capital of Canada must provide a complete submission which includes an application form, proposal and letters of support (all outlined below).
  • Only complete submissions received by the deadline will be considered by the Awards Committee.
  • Submissions from previous years can be resubmitted if it is still considered

Proposals must be received before June 15, 2021 and can be submitted by mail, email or fax (in PDF format) to:

Canadian Institute of Forestry/Institut forestier du Canada

P.O. Box 99, 6905 Hwy 17 West, Mattawa, Ontario, P0H 1V0


Fax: (705)744-1716

Responsibilities of a Forest Capital of Canada

  • Communications Plan: Develop a communications plan that promotes community and/or regional involvement and media coverage. The plan could include:
    • Website: Develop or incorporate an interactive website (or webpage into an existing website) featuring a calendar of events and corporate partnerships.
    • Social Media: Develop content to promote Forest Capital of Canada designation on social media channels using #ForestCapitalofCanada.
  • Launch: Host a designation ceremony and program launch for dignitaries, special guests and media.
  • National Forest Week: Host National Forest Week events reflecting the Forest Capital of Canada status.
  • Final Report: Submit a final report to the CIF-IFC summarizing Forest Capital of Canada activities and results.

Year Recipient
2021-2022 The County of Simcoe - ON
2017-2019 Petawawa Research Forest - Chalk River, ON
2015-2016  Community of Constance Lake First Nation, the Town of Hearst and the Municipality of Mattice-Val Côté, ON
2013-2014 Town of Whitecourt and Woodlands County, AB
2012 The Province of British Columbia
2010-2011 Cariboo Regional District, BC
2008-2009 Norfolk County, ON 2007 – Oakville, ON 2006 – Gatineau, QC Centennial, First National Forest Congress and Bi-Centennial, SquaredTimber Rafting
2005-2006 Alberta’s Boreal, AB
2004 Town of Lac La Biche and Lakeland County, AB 2002 – 2003 – Corner Brook, NL
2001 La Mauricie, Shawinigan, QC
2000 Ontario’s Northwest, Thunder Bay, ON 1999 – Kenora, Keewatin and Jaffray-Melick, ON 1998 – Swan Valley, MB
1997 Grande Prairie, AB 1996 – Lunenburg County, NS 1995 – Meadow Lake, SK 1994 – Edmonton, AB
1993 Matapedia Valley, QC 1992 – Chetwynd, BC
1991 Nackawic, NB
1990 Sault Ste Marie, ON 1989 – La Sarre, QC
1988 Grand Falls, NL 1987 – Queen’s County, NS
1986 City of Port Alberni, BC 1985 – Prince Albert & District, SK
1984 The Ottawa Valley, ON & QC 1983 – Smokey Lake District, AB 1982 – County of Simcoe, ON
1981 Prince George, BC 1980 – The Miramichi, NB 1979 – Hudson Bay, SK