Tree of Life Award

Terms of Reference

To recognize individuals who have made superior, dedicated or particularly effective contributions to sustainable forest resource management, forest renewal or sustained yield integrated management of the forest and its intrinsic resources. These contributions may, without limiting the scope, comprise of any noteworthy achievement in activities undertaken by foresters or others such as forest renewal, stand tending, protection, management of the forest or any of its related resources such as wildlife, water, range or recreation, public awareness, betterment of human relations or support of forest-related youth organizations.



The Award is intended primarily, but not exclusively, for members of the Institute. Recipients will be designated by Canadian Institute of Forestry Section councils by means of their own choosing. This may be by action of the Council itself, selection by a committee, or open nominations and voting. Names of those designated will be forwarded to the Executive Director of the Institute. The number of awards presented annually will be approximately 1.0% of the membership. The Executive Director will advise the section executive of the number of candidates who will be eligible for designation, based on the following table:

Number of Members Number of Annual Awards
Up to 50


The Award

Recipients will be presented with a Tree of Life pin and a certificate. Names of recipients will be published in The Forestry Chronicle and added to the roster of Tree of Life award holders which will be kept at the National Office and updated annually. Award certificates will be prepared and sent, along with the Tree of Life pin, by the Executive Director to Section executives for presentation at a Section meeting. The award presentation will comprise reading of the statement of award and presentation of the Tree of Life pin and certificate. In addition, the National Executive Committee may designate one or two individuals at large, to whom the Tree of Life Award may be presented at the annual meeting.

Year Recipients
2018-2019 Annette van Niejenhuis – Vancouver Island Section

Diana Boylen – Rocky Mountain Section

Lorne West – Rocky Mountain Section

Frances Bennett-Sutton – Northwestern Ontario Section

Laird VanDamme – Northwestern Ontario Section

Charles John – Newfoundland and Labrador Section

Wayne Brown – Newfoundland and Labrador Section

2017-2018 Guylaine Thauvette, Algonquin SectionBruce Mayer, Rocky Mountain Section

Milo Mihajlovich, Rocky Mountain Section

Wayne Kelly, Newfoundland and Labrador Section


2016-2017 William J. Carroll of the Newfoundland and Labrador SectionDerek Morton Sidders of the Rocky Mountain Section

John Richard Spence of the Rocky Mountain Section

2015/2016 Bert Frampton, NLGerald Guenkel, SOSRory Thompson, RMS

Gordon B. Stenhouse, RMS

Barry Northey, RMS

2014/2015 Ronald J. Hall, RMS
Philip Comeau, RMS
Gerald Fleming, NL
A. Murray Anderson, NS
Stan Chester, VA
2013/2014 Tony Rotherham, OR
Peter Johnson, SOS
Geraint Richards, International
His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, International
2012/2013 François-Hugues Bernier OR
Rick Bonar RMS
Steve Price RMS
Bruce Pendrel MT
2011/2012 Trevor Wakelin, RMS
Mauice Lalonde, OS
Rudolph Hanusiak, MT
Gerrit van Raalte, MT
Hap Oldham, MT
John Richards, MT
Murray Neilson, MT
Monty Locke, VIS
Dave Carson, VIS
John Harris, VIS
Uldis Silins, RMS
Pat Wearmouth, RMS
Mike Clarke, SOS
Brian Batchelor, ALS
Al Stinson, ALS
Margaret Penner, ALS
Cliff Henderson, RMS
Vic Lieffers, RMS
Ken Plourde, RMS
Nicolas Brzezinski, OR
Steve Henderson, CA
Rod O’Connell, MT
Mike Trepanier, CA
Herman van Duyn, NWO
Peter Forsythe, CA
Dr. Andrew Weaver, VI
Dr. Werner Kurz, VI
Kevin Ride, NWO
Ian Miller, NS
Bruce Roberts, NL
Cherry Maxwell, OV
Susan Easterman, OV
Norman Denney, RM
Nancy Luckai, NW
Marten Broeren, VI
Edmund W. Howard, VA
Mel P. Lawson, SO
James E. Marshall, OV
Peter M. Paul, OV
Douglas E. Rickson, VA
Richard Smith, VIS
J. Victor Stewart, MR
Roy F. Sutton, COS
Bob Bancroft, NS
John Torunski, MR
Harvey M. Anderson, SO
Eric. C. Crossin, VA
Patrick Duffy, VA
Micheal Heinstein, MS
E. Kristian Morgenstern, AL
Jack E. Pinder, VA
A. (Dolf) Wynia, SO
Dave Dwyer, NS (posthumously)
Don Pudlubny, RM
Ian Morrison, CO
Douglas Prosser, MR
Teresa Stokes, RM
Marie Coyea, OR
Rick Creelman, NS
Donald Dickson, LW
Peter Etheridge, MR
Donald Gelinas, RM
Charles M. Johnson, VI
Tony Mee, NS
Lorne Morrow, NWO
Len Suomu, LW
John Thompson, SK
Evert Van Eerden, VI
Evelynne Wrangler, RM
Lorne Riley, OV
David MacFarlane, MR
Arden Whidden, NS
Denes Bazjak, NL
Andy Kenney, SO
Richard Dempster, RM
David Oxley, MR
Harry Graham, CO
Victor Begrand, SK
E. Kristian Morgenstern, AL
Lorne Swannell, VI
John Sellers, OV
A. David Kiil, RM
Paul Woodard, RM
William J. Roll, NW
René Doucet, OR
Allen Hopwood, VA/PA
Harvey George Taylor, NF
P.K. Bidwell, NO
Alex Dickson, MR
Gordon Robb, MB
Rod Thompson, SK
David Sharpe, NF
Ed Blackmore, NF
Bruno Seppala, LW
Frank Harrison, LW
Ian Methven, MR
Brian Walker, CR
Claude Godbout, OR
J-L Kérouac, OR
Conway Dermott, RM
Arthur Peter, RM
Bill Wilken, NF
Girvan Harrison, MR
Kenny McGinn, MR
Mark Clark, CR
Robert J. Day, NW
Robert Galloway, NO
J.R.M. Williams, SO
W. K. Fullerton, OV
Richard Walker, MB
Brian MacDonald, RM
Richard L. Rothwell, RM
Bruce MacArthur, CR
Keith McClain, CR
Christopher W. Yeatman, AL
William D. Towill, NW
Bruce Belyea, MR
Peter Duinker, NW
John K. Jeglum, CO
Louis LaPierre, MR
David Malcolm, MR
George Garner, LW
Ian Moss, CR
Francis Donnelly, CR
Murray Little, SK
George Brown, SO
Harvey Anderson, SO
Kenneth Hearnden, National
Dick Harkness, NW
F.W. McDougall, RM
Robert H. Swanson, RM
Dave Rannard, MB
Jeffrey Thorpe, SK
W.L. Johnson, NS
Malcolm Squires, NW
Jeffrey Monty, AL
Dianne Beaven, MB
John Casteel, CR
William J. Revel, CR
Alfred J. Campbell, OV
Gordon Young, MR
Hon. Anne McLellan, National
J. C. Mercier, OV
John Torunski, MR
James M. Kitz, RM
Mick Lalor, RM
Jeffrey Thorpe, SK
Gordon L. Stone, CO
R. L. Macnaughton, CO
Alan Furniss, VA
Harold Peacock, MB
Roy Klein, NWO
J. W. Moser, Jr.(SAF), National
Anne Camozzi, NS
Gordon Baskerville, MR
John Gilbert, MR
Harry Struik, CO
Peter Jackson, NS
Clifford B. Smith, RM
James A. Beck, RM
Bill Jonas, MB
Jim Clark, RM
Bruce Dancik, RM
Derek Brown, NF
Bill Bourgeois, VI
Art Walker, VI
Noel Golder, LW
Don Start, LW
Frank Pendl, VA
Peter Sanders, VA
Ross Waldron, MB
Boyd Brown, SN
Carl Halland, SK
Herb Bax, NWO
Al Todd, CR
H.J. (Joe) O’Neill, MR
Will Stiell, AL
Don Grant, VA
J.Harry G. Smith, VA
R.J.F. Elder, VI
J.D. MacArthur, CH
Lorne Brace, RM
Reginald Loomis, RM
Web Webster, MB
Jack Flowers, NWO
John McNicol, NWO
W. H. Hendershot, CH
Thom Erdle, MR
Hank Blenis, MR
(Gerry)Wellburn, VI
Harry Pillar, VI
Andrea Atkinson, SK
Ewan Caldwell, OV
Les Carlson, OV
L. Otis, OR
Bert Gayle, VA
Larry Jago, CO
Bob Haig, CO
C.K Smith, MB
Wayne Brown, NF
Peter Murphy, RM
Jack Wright, RM
J. Allan Eddy, NS
Peter Robichaud, NS