SOUTHERN ONTARIO

About The Section

Southern Ontario Section

Our section has the highest population of any of the sections. It covers the area from Belleville to Windsor and north to Barrie and Orillia including the GTA. As a result, the section includes a large and diverse group of professionals including many who work in the growing urban forestry sector. Our group faces challenges unique to our distinct geographic and social pressures.

Our Objectives

  1. We engage our members with field and social events.
  2. We support the Ring ceremony at Fleming College and Daniels Forestry at U of T.
  3. We support field camps for Master of Forest Conservation U of T students.

What We Do

We deliver our objectives through events, field tours, and meetings among members and council.

Council Members

POSITION NAME
Chair/Director Terry Schwan, R.P.F. (Ret.) (schwell1@rogers.com)
Secretary/Treasurer Donna Lacey (D.Lacey@SVCA.ON.CA)
Past Chair/Past Director Albert Hovingh (ahovingh@wightman.ca)
Council Dan Root (droot89@gmail.com)
Callum Guppy (callum.guppy@mail.utoronto.ca)
Elina Shahmirian (elina.shahmirian@mail.utoronto.ca)
U of T Liaison Sally Krigstin (sally.krigstin@utoronto.ca)
Fleming College Liaison Tim Quinn (Tim.Quinn@flemingcollege.ca)

NEWS FEED

Keep Up With Section News

Click here for an update on recent workshops and events CIF Southern Ontario Section members have been actively involved in!

11.22.2021

Forestry Teachers’ Tour a success!
LEARN MORE

10.08.2021

Memorial Tree Plant at Rouge National Urban Park
LEARN MORE

11.22.2021

Forestry Teachers’ Tour a success!
LEARN MORE

10.08.2021

Memorial Tree Plant at Rouge National Urban Park
LEARN MORE

Past Section Events

Click here to access the minutes from the 2021 Section AGM that was held on October 18th

Section Contact

Connect With Us

If you have any questions or inquires, please feel free to contact our Section Council Members directly.

Terry Schwan

schwell1@rogers.com