The Schlich Memorial Prize is awarded annually at the CIF’s annual general meeting and conference. It is awarded to an outstanding student chosen by the university and technical school(s) represented by the Section(s) hosting the annual meeting. The Schlich Memorial Prize is named, after Sir William Schlich, who was born in 1840 and was a German forester who became Inspector General of Forests to the Government of India. He also founded the School of Forestry at Oxford in 1905, and was knighted in 1909 for his many achievements. He passed-away in 1925 and the Oxford Forestry School sponsored a campaign to create a fitting memorial – the Schlich Memorial Fund. The trust itself was established in 1929, initiating the recognition of outstanding contributions to forestry in a number of countries including the UK, Australia, New Zealand, the U.S. and Canada. This prize includes:

  • Schlich medallion (a plaque with medal)
  • Free registration (student rate) to the annual conference – no cash value if unable to attend the conference
  • $500 (to be used towards travel costs to the conference or, in the case of a student not able to attend, as a cash prize)
  • The award recipient’s photo and a short article will be published in the Forestry Chronicle.

2023 Ashlynne Moore and Mackenzie Guild
2022 Abigail Leaist
2021 Stephanie Wilford and Natasha Lebiadowski
2020 N/A
2019 Jake Wakelin
2018 Gillian Stauffer
2017 N/A
2016 Erin Deshong
2015 Ryan Gleeson
2014 Lara Griffiths
2013 Jeffrey Sansome
2012 Annabelle Moisant-De-Serre
2011 Nicole Bergevin
2010 Sara Cosgrove
1978 F.J. Wilson
1977 Jacques Fernand Couturier
1974 Rodney Bruce Simpson
1973 Jo-Anne Teresa Stupendick
1970 L. S. Lambert
1966 Hans Robert Zuuring
1964 Gaston Provencher
1963 Peter H. Kourtz
1960 Carl H. Winget
1958 Howard Dennis Griffin