National Awards

Each year the Canadian Institute of Forestry presents a number of Awards in recognition of outstanding and unique accomplishments to forestry in Canada. Recipients may earn distinction through demonstration of exceptional accomplishments in the field of forestry.

Call for Nominations now open for 2024!

National Award Nomination Forms

The nomination deadline for all National Awards is May 15th of the nomination year. Please see below for the General Nomination Form which includes information on eligibility criteria and the nomination procedure.

The three following Awards have different nomination forms than the General Nomination Form:

National Awards List


Fellows of the Institute

A member or ex-member who has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of forestry or to the Institute, may be elected a Fellow of the Institute by not fewer than two thirds of the votes cast at the meeting of the Board of Directors. (By-law 3.1.1.) Fellows of the Institute shall be exempt from payment of membership dues and shall enjoy the rights and privileges accorded to Active Members.


Golden Year Club

This Award recognizes individuals celebrating 50 years of membership with the Institute.