Forest Capital of Canada Designation


Established in 1979, the Forest Capital of Canada program focuses on the valuable role forests play in the socio-economic and environmental health of our communities – past, present and future. Originally delivered by the Canadian Forestry Association, the CIF-IFC now administers the legacy program. Each year the CIF-IFC designates a community or region to host a celebration of its forest resources.

Communities or regions are invited to submit a proposal that demonstrates their capacity to mount a successful 12 to 24-month celebration of forest resources!

Eligibility Criteria

Communities or regions interested in being designated the next Forest Capital of Canada must build a business case in the form of a proposal that illustrates their capacity to host a 12- to 24-month celebration of forest resources.

Application Procedure

  • Communities or regions interested in being designated the next Forest Capital of Canada must provide a complete submission which includes an application form, proposal and letters of support (all outlined below).
  • Only complete submissions received by the deadline will be considered by the Awards Committee.
  • Submissions from previous years can be resubmitted if it is still considered

Proposals must be received before June 15, 2023 and can be submitted by email (in PDF format) to:

Canadian Institute of Forestry/Institut forestier du Canada

Responsibilities of a Forest Capital of Canada

  • Communications Plan: Develop a communications plan that promotes community and/or regional involvement and media coverage. The plan could include:
    • Website: Develop or incorporate an interactive website (or webpage into an existing website) featuring a calendar of events and corporate partnerships.
    • Social Media: Develop content to promote Forest Capital of Canada designation on social media channels using #ForestCapitalOfCanada.
  • Launch: Host a designation ceremony and program launch for dignitaries, special guests and media.
  • National Forest Week: Host National Forest Week events reflecting the Forest Capital of Canada status.
  • Final Report: Submit a final report to the CIF-IFC summarizing Forest Capital of Canada activities and results.


2023 Greater Fredericton Area (City of Fredericton), NB
2022 The County of Simcoe, ON
2017-2019 Petawawa Research Forest – Chalk River, ON
2015-2016  Community of Constance Lake First Nation, the Town of Hearst and the Municipality of Mattice-Val Côté, ON
2013-2014 Town of Whitecourt and Woodlands County, AB
2012 The Province of British Columbia
2010-2011 Cariboo Regional District, BC
2008-2009 Norfolk County, ON 2007 – Oakville, ON 2006 – Gatineau, QC Centennial, First National Forest Congress and Bi-Centennial, SquaredTimber Rafting
2005-2006 Alberta’s Boreal, AB
2004 Town of Lac La Biche and Lakeland County, AB 2002 – 2003 – Corner Brook, NL
2001 La Mauricie, Shawinigan, QC
2000 Ontario’s Northwest, Thunder Bay, ON 1999 – Kenora, Keewatin and Jaffray-Melick, ON 1998 – Swan Valley, MB
1997 Grande Prairie, AB 1996 – Lunenburg County, NS 1995 – Meadow Lake, SK 1994 – Edmonton, AB
1993 Matapedia Valley, QC 1992 – Chetwynd, BC
1991 Nackawic, NB
1990 Sault Ste Marie, ON 1989 – La Sarre, QC
1988 Grand Falls, NL 1987 – Queen’s County, NS
1986 City of Port Alberni, BC 1985 – Prince Albert & District, SK
1984 The Ottawa Valley, ON & QC 1983 – Smokey Lake District, AB 1982 – County of Simcoe, ON
1981 Prince George, BC 1980 – The Miramichi, NB 1979 – Hudson Bay, SK